Public Direction

Giving all citizens a say in the federal budgetary process.

Public Direction RSS Feed

Department of Transportation - Sub-Departments

The Department of Transportation is responsible for carrying out duties related to America's roads, sky, and waterways. They work to make sure that all areas of transportation are safe, efficient, and accessible. A few of the administrations within the DOT are the Federal Aviation Administration, Federal Highway Administration, and Federal Railroad Administration. [13, 14]

This page contains a list of sub-departments that are a part of the Department of Transportation. This is an active list that is open to change, and it is meant to be a convenient public reference, not an official list. All the sub-departments listed below are referenced from this department's government website [1], where an official list may be accessed.


Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)

Federal Highway Administration (FHWA)

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA)

Federal Railroad Administration (FRA)

Federal Transit Administration (FTA)

Maritime Administration (MARAD)

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA)

Office of Inspector General (OIG)

Office of the Secretary of Transportation (OST)

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)

Research and Innovative Technology Administration (RITA)

Saint Lawrence Seaway Development Corporation (SLSDC)

Surface Transportation Board (STB)


  1. 'DOT Agencies.' United States Department of Transportation 06-07-2010. <>.


Creative Commons License
by Casey Houser and Christian Yaeger
is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Powered by Laughing Squid