Public Direction

Giving all citizens a say in the federal budgetary process.

Public Direction RSS Feed

Department of Education - Sub-Departments

The Department of Education creates federal policy that is tied directly to the distribution and oversight of funds. They are responsible for completing research that ultimately leads to the identification and solution of problems within the national education system. In addition, they also have the power to enforce federal laws concerning the discriminatory use of federal money. [4]

This page contains a list of sub-departments that are a part of the Department of Education. This is an active list that is open to change, and it is meant to be a convenient public reference, not an official list. All the sub-departments listed below are referenced from this department's government website [1], where an official list may be accessed.


Advisory Committee on Measures of Student Success

Advisory Committee on Student Financial Assistance

Historically Black College and University Capital Financing Advisory Board

National Advisory Committee on Institutional Quality and Integrity

National Advisory Council on Indian Education

National Board for Education Sciences

National Board of the Fund for the Improvement of Postsecondary Education

National Institute for Literacy Advisory Board

National Technical Advisory Council

President's Board of Advisors on Historically Black Colleges and Universities

President's Board of Advisors on Tribal Colleges and Universities

Safe and Drug-Free Schools and Communities Advisory Committee

Commission on Presidential Scholars (CPS)

Federal Interagency Committee on Education

Interagency Coordinating Group for Adult Literacy

Jacob K. Javits Fellow Program Fellowship Board

National Committee on Foreign Medical Education and Accreditation

Architectural and Transportation Barriers Compliance Board

National Assessment Governing Board (NAGB)

National Institute for Literacy


  1. 'Boards and Commissions.' U.S. Department of Education. 06-07-2010. <>.


Creative Commons License
by Casey Houser and Christian Yaeger
is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Powered by Laughing Squid