Public Direction

Giving all citizens a say in the federal budgetary process.

Public Direction RSS Feed

Department of Agriculture - Sub-Departments

The Department of Agriculture provides management of science and research which leads to the implementation of policy concerning food, agriculture, and natural resources. Among other activities, this department provides financing so that housing and job opportunities can be improved, helps to reduce illness by reducing the amount of contaminates in food, and manages public and private land that is used in concert with the federal government. [1]

This page contains a list of sub-departments that are a part of the Department of Agriculture. This is an active list that is open to change, and it is meant to be a convenient public reference, not an official list. All the sub-departments listed below are referenced from this department's government website [1], where an official list may be accessed.


Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS)

Agricultural Research Service (ARS)

Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)

Center for Nutrition Policy and Promotion (CNPP)

Economic Research Service (ERS)

Farm Service Agency (FSA)

Food and Nutrition Service (FNS)

Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS)

Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS)

Forest Service (FS)

Grain Inspection, Packers and Stockyards Administration (GIPSA)

National Agricultural Library (NAL)

National Agricultural Statistics Service (NASS)

National Institute of Food and Agriculture (NIFA)

Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS)

Risk Management Agency (RMA)

Rural Development (RD)

Departmental Management (DM)

National Appeals Division (NAD)

Office of the Assistant Secretary for Civil Rights (OASCR)

Office of Budget and Program Analysis (OBPA)

Office of the Chief Economist (OCE)

Office of the Chief Financial Officer (OCFO)

Office of the Chief Information Officer (OCIO)

Office of Communications (OC)

Office of Congressional Relations (OCR)

Office of the Executive Secretariat (OES)

Office of the Inspector General (OIG)

Office of the General Counsel (OGC)


  1. 'Agencies and Offices.' United States Department of Agriculture. 06-07-2010. <!ut/p/c5/04_SB8K8xLLM9MSSzPy8xBz9CP0os_gAC9-wMJ8QY0MDpxBDA09nXw9DFxcXQ-cAA_1wkA5kFaGuQBXeASbmnu4uBgbe5hB5AxzA0UDfzyM_N1W_IDs7zdFRUREAZXAypA!!/


Creative Commons License
by Casey Houser and Christian Yaeger
is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Powered by Laughing Squid